Total Production

Metallica FOH 'Big Mick' Hughes To Be Interviewed In Meyer Sound Mixing Webinars

June 2015


Legendary FOH engineer 'Big Mick' Hughes, who has mixed more than 1,500 Metallica shows over three decades, is confirmed as a guest speaker on the Meyer Sound Mixing Workshop webinar series.

Hughes will be joining program host and veteran mixer Buford Jones. In the webinar, Hughes will share his lessons from mixing Metallica, the evolution of his techniques, as well as his approach to selecting equipment from consoles and microphones to loudspeaker systems. An open Q&A will be available for attendees’ questions.

The Mixing Workshop schedule:

Wednesday, July 1:
7AM PDT/2PM UTC
10AM PDT/5PM UTC

Thursday, July 2:
7AM PDT/2PM UTC
10AM PDT/5PM UTC

A native of Birmingham, UK, Hughes learned his trade in the thriving rock scene of the Midlands, working with UB40, Dennis Brown, and Yellowman. After touring with new wave band The Armoury Show, Hughes was asked to mix for Metallica, a brand new band that the management company had just signed. When not touring with Metallica, Hughes has mixed shows for Ozzy Osbourne, Def Leppard, Queens of the Stone Age, and Steve Vai, among others.

As part of Meyer Sound's worldwide education program, Buford Jones brings lessons learned from a mixing career of almost four decades to his online Mixing Workshop and hands-on sessions around the world. Jones' illustrious mixing credits include Pink Floyd, Eric Clapton, Stevie Wonder, Prince, and David Bowie.

www.meyersound.com

www.meyersound.com/events/seminars/webinars.php

 

Related Articles

SEARCH